The Hunger Games / Catching Fire

As I mentioned, I recently finished the second book in the Hunger Games series, Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins.

This is the first book in the series.
This is the second book in the series.

By far, this is my favorite series that I have read in a while. The books, so far, remind me a little of the Pendragon series by D.J. MacHale. Since I just finished the second book, I will talk more about Catching Fire than Hunger Games. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ HUNGER GAMES you may not want to read this, or you may anyways – you just might not understand.

Catching Fire seems to be the plateau in which Katniss must decide who she really is and what she stands for. I found myself annoyed with her at multiple times, since she can’t make up her mind about whether she loves Peeta or Gale (or both!). There are also moments where she lapses into immaturity, and I had to remind myself that she is 17, too young to really be dealing with any of these issues.

However, this book was as riveting as the first. It moves quickly, sending Katniss and Peeta back into the arena again for the Quarter Quell, which is not as drawn-out a process as the Hunger Games are. This time, Katniss has really ticked off the Capitol and President Snow and is forced to pay for her actions. The book builds through scenes of the fights as well as news from other districts as a revolution begins. In the end, we are left with an incredible cliff-hanger that makes it impossible to not want to IMMEDIATELY read the third and final book.

(However, since I am experiencing Small-Town-Library Syndrome, I won’t be able to check it out for a few more weeks!)

Ultimately, I think this book was not quite as exciting as Hunger Games in terms of character development, but it is a crucial installment to the series. I can’t wait to read the last book, Mockingjay!

One thought on “The Hunger Games / Catching Fire

  1. I absolutely cannot wait to read Catching Fire. I finished The Hunger Games almost in a frenzy to find out what happened. I’m pumped for the rest of the story!

Leave a Reply

