New Favorite Book? It’s a Possibility

I LOVE being on winter break. I can wake up, make a cup of coffee, and read for an hour if I want to instead of rushing off to class. So far the reading list is going great! I finished Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer, which is absolutely fantastic. I can’t wait for the movie to come out.

I also just finished reading a memoir by Diablo Cody called Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper. It might just be one of my new favorite books.

She mentions in the book that she has awesome tattoos…I wonder if she really has one that looks like this!

During my nonfiction writing course this past semester, we had a ‘journalism’ assignment and were given a list of books written in that style to read a synopsis of to learn more about how to write journalistic nonfiction. This book was on the list, and I was finally able to grab a copy from the library to read.

Stuck in a boring job at an advertising agency, Diablo Cody decided one night to sign up for an amateur strip night at a night club in Minneapolis. For a year, she was a stripper, eventually giving up her corporate job. Her boyfriend was supportive and even thought it was sexy that she spent her nights grinding on other guys for cash.
Now, this isn’t the subject material that I would usually read, but I couldn’t put this book down. Diablo Cody is a hilarious writer, and so many scenes that could have been disturbing or uncomfortable were instead written with a humor that left me laughing instead of cringing. It was also interesting to hear her ‘outsider’ perspective on Minneapolis and how she treated midwestern culture. Of course there was a comment about hot-dish…it appears no one can mention Minnesota without poking fun at that phrase.
(Incidentally, my mom was raised in Iowa, so we don’t have hot dish, we have casserole.)
She provided insights into other strippers’ lives, how managers treat the girls (and how they rip them off – sometimes a stripper would have to pay the house if she didn’t make enough money for the night), and what motivates people to strip. She also wrote her own personal reactions and how she felt after nights she did well and nights she barely made enough money.
It was a fantastic book: witty, hilarious, reflective, analytical, hilarious (oh wait, I said that already). Anyways, it was funny and a quick read.
Fun fact: Diablo Cody wrote this book a year before she wrote the screenplay for Juno.
In the meantime, I am starting Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides.
One thought on “New Favorite Book? It’s a Possibility

Leave a Reply

