Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

As a summer tradition, I re-read the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares. If you haven’t read this book, you really should. I can’t say I enjoyed it as much as I did the first time when I read it, probably when I was in junior high, but I got sucked into the story and the characters just as fast.

Do you ever have the problem when you re-read beloved books and you get disappointed that the book was not as magical as it was the first time you read it? I had that issue with this book. I remember reading it many summers ago and absolutely falling in love with the characters, wanting their lives. After having grown up a few years, I can’t relate as much to their stories, but I can still enjoy them.

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants follows four girls – Carmen, Bridget, Lena, Tibby – as they live through their first summer apart from each other. They have been friends all their lives, and the idea of a summer that doesn’t involve them all hanging out every day scares them. Luckily, they find a magic pair of pants that happens to fit them all. They decide that the Pants should travel among them over the summer to keep them together. Carmen travels to live with her dad for the summer, only to discover that her dad has a new life and new family. Lena goes to Greece to live with her grandparents, and finds love in the most unexpected way. Bridget falls head-over-heels for an off-limits coach at a soccer camp and almost loses herself in the process, and Tibby is stuck at home, working, and making friends with someone new who will change her life. The book follows each of them equally, shows their letters back and forth, describes their times apart, and shows how they stay together despite how everything is changing. It is a great book about friendship and summer, and I highly recommend it. It is still a great favorite of mine – as is the whole series.

 

Meanwhile, I went to Barnes & Noble yesterday (I know, I know, Big Bad Chain Bookstore) and bought a couple new books to read: Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler (which I just started!) and Divergent by Veronica Roth. It was also pretty cool, because I saw The Lifeguard by Deborah Blumenthal on the shelves for sale (if you forgot, I reviewed that in November after getting a copy from NetGalley).

After shopping at B & N I decided I need to find some small, local book stores to dig into. Time to search for treasure!

Leave a Reply

